Houay Xai

near the Thailand border crossing, and the departure point for the Gibbon Experience in Bokeo Nature Reserve

Luang Prabang

famed cultural town and former capital

Luang Namtha

capital of Luang Namtha Province

Muang Long

district of Laos

Muang Ngeun

Muang Sing

in Luang Namtha Province

Muang Xay

capital of Oudomxai Province


province of Laos


in Bokeo Province


Vieng Phoukha

in Luang Namtha Province

Other destinations

Kaen Teo

Muang Khua

Muang Ngoi Neua

riverside village in Luang Prabang province. Only accessible by boat.

Nong Khiaw

riverside village in Luang Prabang province.

Pak Lai


Go next

Central Laos




guide to

Northern Laos

Northern Laos is a mountainous region of Laos. It shares borders with Thailand, Myanmar, China and Vietnam. The region encompasses the provinces of (from north to south) Phongsali, Oudomxai, Luang Namtha, Bokeo and Sainyabuli.


By road

Highway 13 connects the region via Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng and Vientiane in Central Laos

More information available on Wikivoyage

This page is available in airplane mode! To the airplane!
Don't forget to visit any links on this page that you also need for your flight.